Home Page
Link to Seattle Department of Neighborhoods home page

Seattle Historical Sites

New Search

Summary for 4413 LETITIA AVE / Parcel ID 1604600895 / Inv #

Historic Name: Common Name:
Style: Vernacular Neighborhood: North Rainier Valley
Built By: Year Built: 1907
In the opinion of the survey, this property appears to meet the criteria of the Seattle Landmarks Preservation Ordinance.
Built in 1907, this building was occupied by Nettie A. Islip by 1931. Mrs. Islip was a widow (of Edward A.) by 1931 when she purchased the building June of 1931. The Islip’s resided previously at 4407 Letitia Avenue South. By 1937, a tenant rented the building for $16 per month. The Polk directory lists Eugene I. Brown as the building occupant by 1938. In February of 1938, a garage was added to the site. Walter Baxby lived in the house by 1940. Hugh L. Maguire purchased the building in September of 1941. A one-story addition was added off the rear of the building. By 1943, Ben Edlund occupied the building, followed by Edward Warren Hawkins by 1955 through 1968. The North Rainier Valley consists of a depression created by glaciation between the ridges of Beacon Hill and Mount Baker. The valley derives its name from Mount Rainier because of stunning views of the mountain. The area’s growth followed the early streetcar line, which was completed to Columbia City in 1890. The North Rainier Valley includes the area north of Columbia City and contained many early vegetable farms. Commercial development followed along the streetcar line, with housing built nearby. During the first decades of the 20th century, the area between Massachusetts and Atlantic Streets was home to Seattle’s largest Italian enclave, “Garlic Gulch.” Dugdale Ball Park opened on the corner of Rainier Avenue and McClellan Street in 1913, and was succeeded by Sick’s Stadium in 1938. World War II precipitated a surge in housing development, including the public housing project, Rainier Vista, in 1943. Following the war, the area attracted a mix of African-Americans, Asians, and Filipinos. Today this diverse, low-to-middle income neighborhood is unique within Seattle with its long narrow form focused on the Rainier Avenue transportation corridor.
Built in 1907, this compact, Colonial Revival style, single-family dwelling is oriented to Letitia Avenue South on a sloped site. This 704 square foot, one-and-a-half story house features a rectangular plan, measuring approximately 22’ by 32’, with a full width front porch. The wood frame, clapboard-clad superstructure features an asphalt composition covered front gable roof. Boxed eaves and gable ends with a prominent cornice and cornice returns define the roofline. Wood sash 1:1 double hung windows with decorative head moldings provide day lighting. Classically-influenced columns support the hip porch roof. A low, closed railing wraps the porch. An internal brick chimney services the building.

Detail for 4413 LETITIA AVE / Parcel ID 1604600895 / Inv #

Status: Yes - Inventory
Classication: Building District Status:
Cladding(s): Wood - Clapboard Foundation(s): Unknown
Roof Type(s): Gable Roof Material(s): Asphalt/Composition
Building Type: Domestic - Single Family Plan: Rectangular
Structural System: Balloon Frame/Platform Frame No. of Stories: one & ½
Unit Theme(s):
Changes to Original Cladding: Intact
Changes to Windows: Intact
Changes to Plan: Intact
Major Bibliographic References
City of Seattle DCLU Microfilm Records.
King County Property Record Card (c. 1938-1972), Washington State Archives.
Polk's Seattle Directories, 1890-1996.
City of Seattle. Survey of City-Owned Historic Resources. Prepared by Cathy Wickwire, Seattle, 2001. Forms for Ravenna Park structures.
Tobin, Caroline. (2004) "North Rainier Valley Historic Context Statement."

Photo collection for 4413 LETITIA AVE / Parcel ID 1604600895 / Inv #

Photo taken Nov 17, 2003
App v2.0.1.0