Home Page
Link to Seattle Department of Neighborhoods home page

Seattle Historical Sites

New Search

Summary for 4114 34th AVE / Parcel ID 1604601686 / Inv #

Historic Name: Common Name:
Style: Vernacular Neighborhood: North Rainier Valley
Built By: Year Built: 1905
Built in 1905, this building was purchased by Effie C. McKynnon in January of 1909. By 1938 through 1943, John and Effie C. McLeod lived in the residence. William F. Austin bought the building in May of 1953 for $5000 and remained through 1955. In March of 1957, Dr. Rae Wallace purchased the building for $3801. Curtis Cochran bought the house a short two months later in May of 1957 for $5950. By 1968, Dean Handcock lived in the building. The North Rainier Valley consists of a depression created by glaciation between the ridges of Beacon Hill and Mount Baker. The valley derives its name from Mount Rainier because of stunning views of the mountain. The area’s growth followed the early streetcar line, which was completed to Columbia City in 1890. The North Rainier Valley includes the area north of Columbia City and contained many early vegetable farms. Commercial development followed along the streetcar line, with housing built nearby. During the first decades of the 20th century, the area between Massachusetts and Atlantic Streets was home to Seattle’s largest Italian enclave, “Garlic Gulch.” Dugdale Ball Park opened on the corner of Rainier Avenue and McClellan Street in 1913, and was succeeded by Sick’s Stadium in 1938. World War II precipitated a surge in housing development, including the public housing project, Rainier Vista, in 1943. Following the war, the area attracted a mix of African-Americans, Asians, and Filipinos. Today this diverse, low-to-middle income neighborhood is unique within Seattle with its long narrow form focused on the Rainier Avenue transportation corridor.
Built in 1905, this compact, Vernacular style, single-family dwelling is oriented to Thirty-Fourth Avenue South on a steeply sloped site. This 870 square foot, single-story house with a partial daylight basement features a nearly square plan, measuring approximately 29’ by 30’. The wood frame, beveled siding-clad superstructure features corner boards. Asphalt composition roofing covers the cross gable and hip roof. Modest eave and gable overhangs with exposed rafters define the roofline. Wood sash double hung 1:1 windows provide day lighting. A small concrete pad marks the front entrance. A brick chimney services the building. This building is important within the neighborhood as one of the few largely intact early examples of the historically significant chronology of the expansion of a small cottage.

Detail for 4114 34th AVE / Parcel ID 1604601686 / Inv #

Status: Yes - Inventory
Classication: Building District Status:
Cladding(s): Wood Foundation(s): Unknown
Roof Type(s): Gable Roof Material(s): Asphalt/Composition
Building Type: Domestic - Single Family Plan: L-Shape
Structural System: Balloon Frame/Platform Frame No. of Stories: one
Unit Theme(s):
Changes to Original Cladding: Intact
Changes to Windows: Intact
Changes to Plan: Moderate
Major Bibliographic References
City of Seattle DCLU Microfilm Records.
King County Property Record Card (c. 1938-1972), Washington State Archives.
Polk's Seattle Directories, 1890-1996.
City of Seattle. Survey of City-Owned Historic Resources. Prepared by Cathy Wickwire, Seattle, 2001. Forms for Ravenna Park structures.
Tobin, Caroline. (2004) "North Rainier Valley Historic Context Statement."

Photo collection for 4114 34th AVE / Parcel ID 1604601686 / Inv #

Photo taken Nov 14, 2003

Photo taken Nov 14, 2003

Photo taken Nov 14, 2003
App v2.0.1.0