Home Page
Link to Seattle Department of Neighborhoods home page

Seattle Historical Sites

New Search

Summary for 2905 S Estelle ST S / Parcel ID 1624049033 / Inv #

Historic Name: Common Name:
Style: Arts & Crafts Neighborhood: North Rainier Valley
Built By: Year Built: 1956
Begun in 1948 and finished in 1956, the building was occupied by C. T. Gamet from 1949 through ca 1953. By 1955, Manley M. Morse resided in the building. Mr. Morse remained through 1959. Polk directories listed the building as vacant in 1962. By 1966, Lyle K. Chester occupied the building, followed by James V. Burnet in 1966. Mr. Burnet remained through 1968, until Loyd Billadeux moved in ca 1970. The North Rainier Valley consists of a depression created by glaciation between the ridges of Beacon Hill and Mount Baker. The valley derives its name from Mount Rainier because of stunning views of the mountain. The area’s growth followed the early streetcar line, which was completed to Columbia City in 1890. The North Rainier Valley includes the area north of Columbia City and contained many early vegetable farms. Commercial development followed along the streetcar line, with housing built nearby. During the first decades of the 20th century, the area between Massachusetts and Atlantic Streets was home to Seattle’s largest Italian enclave, “Garlic Gulch.” Dugdale Ball Park opened on the corner of Rainier Avenue and McClellan Street in 1913, and was succeeded by Sick’s Stadium in 1938. World War II precipitated a surge in housing development, including the public housing project, Rainier Vista, in 1943. Following the war, the area attracted a mix of African-Americans, Asians, and Filipinos. Today this diverse, low-to-middle income neighborhood is unique within Seattle with its long narrow form focused on the Rainier Avenue transportation corridor.
Begun in 1948 and finished in 1956, this low, Contemporary-influenced, Modern style, single-family dwelling stands on a sloped lot set back into the terrain. This 960 square foot, single-story house with a full daylight basement features a rectangular plan, with a basement carport and first story porch off the end wall. A poured concrete foundation supports the wood frame, shingle-clad superstructure. Asphalt composition roofing covers the low-pitched hip roof. Broad overhanging eaves with plain soffits define the roofline. A prominent corner window with aluminum sash picture windows along the front facade provide day lighting for the first story spaces. Additional sliding and fixed aluminum sash punctuate the basement and secondary first story walls. The main entrance is located on the end wall opposite the carport. A winding flight of stairs flanked by rubble stone and a metal railing lead to the entrance. A secondary entrance opens to the basement from grade.

Detail for 2905 S Estelle ST S / Parcel ID 1624049033 / Inv #

Status: Yes - Inventory
Classication: Building District Status:
Cladding(s): Wood - Clapboard Foundation(s): Concrete - Poured
Roof Type(s): Gable Roof Material(s): Asphalt/Composition
Building Type: Domestic - Single Family Plan: Rectangular
Structural System: Balloon Frame/Platform Frame No. of Stories: one
Unit Theme(s):
Changes to Windows: Intact
Changes to Original Cladding: Intact
Changes to Plan: Intact
Major Bibliographic References
City of Seattle DCLU Microfilm Records.
King County Property Record Card (c. 1938-1972), Washington State Archives.
Polk's Seattle Directories, 1890-1996.
City of Seattle. Survey of City-Owned Historic Resources. Prepared by Cathy Wickwire, Seattle, 2001. Forms for Ravenna Park structures.
Tobin, Caroline. (2004) "North Rainier Valley Historic Context Statement."

Photo collection for 2905 S Estelle ST S / Parcel ID 1624049033 / Inv #

Photo taken Sep 26, 2003
App v2.0.1.0