Home Page
Link to Seattle Department of Neighborhoods home page

Seattle Historical Sites

New Search

Summary for 2019 24th AVE / Parcel ID 1498302774 / Inv #

Historic Name: Common Name:
Style: Queen Anne, Vernacular Neighborhood: North Rainier Valley
Built By: Year Built: 1906
In the opinion of the survey, this property appears to meet the criteria of the Seattle Landmarks Preservation Ordinance.
Built in 1906, the building was owned by M. Hoard by 1916 through 1917. In October of 1916, Mr. Hoard (Howard) added a sleeping porch on the roof. By 1918 through 1936, Ruth R. Elliott resided in the building. By 1938 through 1940, John B. Baker resided in the building. Arthur L. Lewark bought the residence in June of 1942 for $1250 and remained through ca 1944. William Anderson lived in the house by 1955. In September of 1960, Mary James purchased the building for $5950 and remained in the building through 1968. The North Rainier Valley consists of a depression created by glaciation between the ridges of Beacon Hill and Mount Baker. The valley derives its name from Mount Rainier because of stunning views of the mountain. The area’s growth followed the early streetcar line, which was completed to Columbia City in 1890. The North Rainier Valley includes the area north of Columbia City and contained many early vegetable farms. Commercial development followed along the streetcar line, with housing built nearby. During the first decades of the 20th century, the area between Massachusetts and Atlantic Streets was home to Seattle’s largest Italian enclave, “Garlic Gulch.” Dugdale Ball Park opened on the corner of Rainier Avenue and McClellan Street in 1913, and was succeeded by Sick’s Stadium in 1938. World War II precipitated a surge in housing development, including the public housing project, Rainier Vista, in 1943. Following the war, the area attracted a mix of African-Americans, Asians, and Filipinos. Today this diverse, low-to-middle income neighborhood is unique within Seattle with its long narrow form focused on the Rainier Avenue transportation corridor.
Built in 1906, this compact, Queen Anne-influenced, vernacular style, single-family dwelling stands on a rectangular lot. The building is oriented to Twenty-Fourth Avenue South on a flat site at street level. This 660 square foot, single-story house features an irregular plan, measuring approximately 20’ by 27’, with a recessed front porch. A poured concrete foundation supports the wood frame, shiplap and shingle (gable ends) clad superstructure. Asphalt composition roofing covers the hip roof and front facing gable. Modest, closed eave and gable overhangs with a prominent rake trim define the roofline. Wood sash 1:1 windows with painted wood casings provide day lighting. A pedimented bay projects from the front facade. A short flight of stairs leads to the front porch. A tapered corner post supports the roof. An internal brick chimney services the building.

Detail for 2019 24th AVE / Parcel ID 1498302774 / Inv #

Status: Yes - Inventory
Classication: Building District Status:
Cladding(s): Shingle, Wood - Shiplap Foundation(s): Unknown
Roof Type(s): Gable Roof Material(s): Asphalt/Composition
Building Type: Domestic - Single Family Plan: Irregular
Structural System: No. of Stories: one
Unit Theme(s):
Changes to Original Cladding: Intact
Changes to Plan: Intact
Changes to Windows: Intact
Major Bibliographic References
City of Seattle DCLU Microfilm Records.
King County Property Record Card (c. 1938-1972), Washington State Archives.
Polk's Seattle Directories, 1890-1996.
City of Seattle. Survey of City-Owned Historic Resources. Prepared by Cathy Wickwire, Seattle, 2001. Forms for Ravenna Park structures.
Tobin, Caroline. (2004) "North Rainier Valley Historic Context Statement."

Photo collection for 2019 24th AVE / Parcel ID 1498302774 / Inv #

Photo taken Dec 04, 2003

Photo taken Dec 04, 2003
App v2.0.1.0