Home Page
Link to Seattle Department of Neighborhoods home page

Seattle Historical Sites

New Search

Summary for 1810 17th AVE / Parcel ID 3881900350 / Inv #

Historic Name: Common Name:
Style: Tudor, Tudor - Cottage Neighborhood: North Rainier Valley
Built By: Year Built: 1929
In the opinion of the survey, this property appears to meet the criteria of the Seattle Landmarks Preservation Ordinance.
Built in 1929, this building was purchased by Frank and Mary Yellam in February of the same year. The Yellam’s resided in the building through 1943. Mr. Yellam worked as a heater at Isaacson Iron Works. By 1951 through 1968, Domenico Ioffredo lived in the building. A neighborhood of Italian immigrants and their businesses developed in the North Rainier Valley and northeast Beacon Hill. Starting around 1900, Italian immigrants came to Seattle to work in coal mines and as construction laborers and farmers. The Italian immigrants may have settled in this area because of its inexpensive housing, convenient location near downtown, and potential for small farm plots in the North Rainier Valley. This neighborhood, which became known as “Garlic Gulch” or “Little Italy,” centered on South Atlantic Street and Rainier Avenue South. In 1915, about 200 families lived in a 90-square-block area along Rainier Avenue from Lane Street on the north to Mount Baker Park on the south. Many Italian-owned businesses were located in the area, including food imports, Borracchini’s Bakery, Oberto Sausage Company, produce stands, grocery stores, a nursery (Malmo’s), drug stores, and other shops. Our Lady of Mount Virgin Catholic Church at 1531 Bradner Place South, built in 1913, was the hub of the Italian community and operated a Catholic School that offered Italian lessons. Most of the remaining structures in the Italian neighborhood were razed during construction of I-90 in the 1970s and 1980s.The North Rainier Valley consists of a depression created by glaciation between the ridges of Beacon Hill and Mount Baker. The valley derives its name from Mount Rainier because of stunning views of the mountain. The area’s growth followed the early streetcar line, which was completed to Columbia City in 1890. The North Rainier Valley includes the area north of Columbia City and contained many early vegetable farms. Commercial development followed along the streetcar line, with housing built nearby. During the first decades of the 20th century, the area between Massachusetts and Atlantic Streets was home to Seattle’s largest Italian enclave, “Garlic Gulch.” Dugdale Ball Park opened on the corner of Rainier Avenue and McClellan Street in 1913, and was succeeded by Sick’s Stadium in 1938. World War II precipitated a surge in housing development, including the public housing project, Rainier Vista, in 1943. Following the war, the area attracted a mix of African-Americans, Asians, and Filipinos. Today this diverse, low-to-middle income neighborhood is unique within Seattle with its long narrow form focused on the Rainier Avenue transportation corridor.
Built in 1929, this compact, Tudor Revival style, single-family dwelling stands on a rectangular lot. The building is oriented to Seventeenth Avenue South on a flat site 3’ above street level. This 1044 square foot, one-and-a-half story house with a full basement features a rectangular plan, measuring approximately 29’ by 36’, with a 6’ by 4’ front stoop. A poured concrete foundation supports the wood frame, brick-clad superstructure. Decorative brickwork in the form of diamonds accents the gable end half story window. Additional decorative brickwork accents the building corners and transition between the basement and first story. Asphalt composition roofing covers the cross gable roof. Modest, closed eave and gable overhangs with eave returns and a prominent rake trim define the roofline. The main body of the roof features clipped gables. Wood sash windows with leaded upper panes and transoms provide day lighting. Decorative brickwork and pronounced rowlock headers accent the window openings. A round arched window highlights the front gable end. A short flight of stairs leads to the front stoop. A gable roof shelters the stoop. Brick piers with decorative brickwork support the stoop roof. A prominent gable end exterior brick chimney with decorative brickwork services the building. The extent and level of contrast of the decorative brickwork set this building apart as unique within the Beacon Hill and North Rainier Valley Neighborhoods.

Detail for 1810 17th AVE / Parcel ID 3881900350 / Inv #

Status: Yes - Inventory
Classication: Building District Status:
Cladding(s): Brick Foundation(s): Concrete - Poured
Roof Type(s): Gable - Clipped Roof Material(s): Asphalt/Composition
Building Type: Domestic - Single Family Plan: Rectangular
Structural System: Balloon Frame/Platform Frame No. of Stories: one & ½
Unit Theme(s):
Changes to Original Cladding: Intact
Changes to Windows: Intact
Changes to Plan: Intact
Major Bibliographic References
City of Seattle DCLU Microfilm Records.
King County Property Record Card (c. 1938-1972), Washington State Archives.
Polk's Seattle Directories, 1890-1996.
City of Seattle. Survey of City-Owned Historic Resources. Prepared by Cathy Wickwire, Seattle, 2001. Forms for Ravenna Park structures.
Tobin, Caroline. (2004) "North Rainier Valley Historic Context Statement."
Nicandri, David L. Italians in Washington State: Emigration 1853-1924. Olympia, WA: Washington State American Revolution Commission, 1978.
Roe, Nellie Virginia. “The Italian Immigrant in Seattle,” Master of Arts Thesis, University of Washington, 1915.

Photo collection for 1810 17th AVE / Parcel ID 3881900350 / Inv #

Photo taken Nov 21, 2003

Photo taken Mar 08, 2004

Photo taken Mar 08, 2004
App v2.0.1.0